Why I want to Re-read My Life as a Fake by Peter Carey

by Susan Abraham

This morning turned up a mixed bag of emotions.  A subdued mood cajoled me to a near silence. I blame it on the lack of light that faithfully accompanied the smudge of grey wintry skies, wind and rain.  Believe me, I consider my quiet life celebratory enough that had the vault of depression threaten to block a fraction of  joy, I’d have resurrected an old passion or grabbed any silver lining from a dark day with which to stifle a tear.

My mood soon lifted but stayed in contemplation. I think my colourful travel experiences – now that I have begun to appreciate them fully – have bounded off a new reverence that challenges me to write and read stories in a deeper holistic way.  This, especially in the summer of my life.  I wrote on Facebook today that I yearned for my senses to meet the texture, flavour and atmosphere of words encountered and pages turned. There, enough said!

With regards to this, I am considering reading a series of books pertaining to world literature or the classics that broach a scholarly meditation. I am contemplating with eagerness the prospect of literary journeys, creative workshops, book blog tours and fascinating blog reading challenges among other things.

I thought I’d start off my resolution by re-reading My Life as a Fake by novelist and former Booker Prize winner,  Peter Carey. I raced through the book – I am a naturally fast reader –   on a recent flight to Kuala Lumpur but the crowds and clutter of my surroundings as I rushed from airport to city made it difficult for me to dwell on the somewhat comic-tragedy of a tale told in old Kuala Lumpur and a mystery encased among its seedier alleyways.

With this thoughtful episode in mind, I so want to re-read the novel again and write out my first literary journey of Kuala Lumpur here on this blog.  I was also inspired by Janet Halliday’s own Peter Carey journey called Faking it in Kuala Lumpur an article I held in high admiration.  However, my views may likely differ since I am Malaysian and have visited this grand dame of a city as a wee tot, everytime my mum took me shopping.  I am quite thrilled at the idea of attempting to write out a literary journey. I hope when the time comes shortly, that you would enjoy reading it.

One response to this post.

  1. I’m amazed and in awe of the reading you do, Susan. I look forward to reading about what you’ve read – and hopefully will be able to try some of these myself. Thanks for expanding my horizons. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

