A Dublin Encounter

by Susan Abraham

At Waterstone’s on Dawson Street, I performed the cardinal sin of being seduced by a sign that said Discover the Old in Winter. Faced with the classics & b/w illustrations, I spied Dickens & a host of fairy tales wear immortality in the spirit of their plots & characters. Where once they mirrored a girlish delight, my evergreen tales now readied themselves for the long low summer of my life, willing nostalgia to hurry before the last sunset. As they wished for me only a flicker of remembrance, I saw it was I who had grown old, the gold seeped off my frail, stale skin and not at all, my beloved fairy tales.

Credit: Clip art coutesy of Download-Free-Pictures
Leave a Reply

